11th Year of IP3 Awards: Who Should Win?
11th Year of IP3 Awards: Who Should Win?
11th Year of IP3 Awards: Who Should Win?

    Get Involved Today

    This is an exciting time for the public interest community and tech policy. Over the last year, we have celebrated winning court decisions like the Google Books decision, and we have continued to advocate for the fundamental values that underlie our communications networks.  From promoting a balanced and effective copyright system, to advocating for patent reform that promotes innovation and technology, to introducing DC to innovative new technologies like 3D printing, we are the thought leaders and activists who are leading the way forward.

    Public Knowledge's IP3 awards are a special occasion to honor those who have made significant contributions in the three areas of “IP”—intellectual property, information policy, and Internet protocol.  

    This year will be the eleventh year PK has made the awards, and now it's time for you to submit nominations. They can be for a career's worth of work, or for a more recent accomplishment. It's up to you.

    Winners in 2013 were Rep. Anna Eshoo, Jerry Brito and Eli Dourado from WCITleaks, and Sina Khanifar from StopWatching.us and OpenSignal, who launched the successful We The People petition on cell phone unlocking.

    Recipients from past years include Senator Ron Wyden and Rep. Zoe Lofgren, Ben Scott, then with Free Press, Fred von Lohmann, then with the Electronic Frontier Foundation, members of the band OK Go!; and Columbia Law School professor Tim Wu.

    Here’s how it works:

    • Send in your nomination to this email address: ip3nominees@publicknowledge.org.
    • Give us the name of your nominee and a short explanation for why you think your nominee should win.
    • We’ll pass along that information to a panel of judges who will narrow down the list of nominees to three winners.

    This year’s judges will be:

    • Kevin Bankston, Policy Director, The New America Foundation’s Open Technology Institute
    • Angela Campbell, Profess of Law and Co-Director, Georgetown Institute for Public Representation
    • Chanelle Hardy, Senior Vice President for Policy and Executive Director, National Urban League Policy Institute
    • Sina Khanifar, CTO at StopWatching.us and Co-Founder of OpenSignal
    • Michael Scurato, Policy Director, National Hispanic Media Coalition

    Please make your nominations by March 31. This year’s winners will be recognized at the 11th Annual IP3 Awards on September 18, 2014.