IP3 Awards Ceremony

The awards help champion the advocates working diligently on behalf of the public interest to help everyone connect and communicate.

The IP3 Awards is a special occasion to honor those who have made significant contributions in our field over the past year, or over the course of their career. Each year, we honor people in three areas of IP: Intellectual Property, Information Policy, and Internet Protocol.


  • Rep. Yvette Clarke, Senior Member of both the House Energy and Commerce Committee and House Committee on Homeland Security
  • Betsy Rosenblat, Professor of Law at Case Western Reserve University Law School
  • Francella Ochillo, Executive Director at Next Century Cities
  • Rep. Jim Clyburn, Majority Whip and third-ranking Democrat in the United States House of Representatives
  • Emma Llanso, Director of the Center for Democracy & Technology’s Free Expression Project
  • Kyle K. Courtney, a lawyer and librarian serving as the Copyright Advisor at Harvard University, working out of Harvard Library’s Office for Scholarly Communication
  • Joy Buolamwini, founder of the Algorithmic Justice League
  • Sherwin Siy (posthumous), a tech policy activist whose expertise spanned a range of fields including copyright, privacy, telecommunications, and free expression
  • Chris Mitchell, Director of the Community Broadband Networks Initiative with the Institute for Local Self-Reliance in Minneapolis
  • Senator Amy Klobuchar, one of the Senate’s foremost leaders on tech issues like platform regulation and broadband opportunity
  • Lila Bailey, Policy Counsel for Internet Archive
  • Matthew Rantanen (Canadian Cree), Director of Technology for the Southern California Tribal Chairmen’s Association and Director for the Tribal Digital Village Network Initiative
  • Geoffrey C. Blackwell (Chickasaw, Choctaw, Omaha, Muscogee Creek), Chief Strategy Officer and General Counsel for AMERIND and former founding Chief of the Federal Communications Commission’s Office of Native Affairs and Policy
  • Stop Hate for Profit, a campaign that organized a mass boycott of Facebook advertising
  • Chet Kanojia, CEO of Starry
  • Karen Peltz Strauss, Disability Advocate and Former FCC Official
  • Ruth Okediji, Author, Advocate, and Harvard Law Professor
  • Representative Mike Doyle, PA-18 (President’s Award)
  • Cathy O’Neil, Data Scientist and Author of “Weapons of Math Destruction: How Big Data Increases Inequality and Threatens Democracy”
  • Lateef Mtima, Professor of Law at Howard University School of Law and Founder/Director of the Institute for Intellectual Property and Social Justice
  • Mignon Clyburn, Former FCC Commissioner and Chairwoman
  • Senator Ed Markey, D-MA
  • Michelle Lee, Former Under Secretary of Commerce for Intellectual Property and Director of the United States Patent and Trademark Office
  • Gigi Sohn, Fellow at Georgetown Law, Open Society Foundation, and Mozilla; Former Counselor to FCC Chairman Tom Wheeler
  • Senator Chuck Schumer, D-NY (President’s Award)
  • Representative Nancy Pelosi, D-CA (President’s Award)
  • Senator Al Franken, D-MN
  • Representative Blake Farenthold, R-TX
  • Jessica Gonzalez, National Hispanic Media Coalition
  • Shari Steele, Electronic Frontier Foundation
  • Rebecca Tushnet, Georgetown Law
  • Chip Pickering, COMPTEL
  • Tim Berners-Lee, World Wide Web Consortium
  • Malkia Cyril, Center for Media Justice
  • Julie Samuels, Engine
  • Representative Anna Eshoo, D-CA
  • Jerry Brito, WCITLeaks Leader and Faculty,  Mercatus Center
  • Eli Dourado, WCITLeaks Leader and Faculty, Mercatus Center
  • Sina Khanifar, Entrepreneur and Author of the Successful White House Cell Phone Unlocking Petition
  • Rebecca MacKinnon, Senior Fellow, New America Foundation
  • Michael Masnick, CEO, Techdirt
  • Andy Schwartzman, Public Interest Communications Attorney
  • Representative Darrell Issa, R-CA (President’s Award)
  • Senator Ron Wyden, D-OR
  • Beth Noveck, Professor, New York Law School
  • Peter Jaszi, Professor, American University’s Washington College of Law
  • Pamela Samuelson, Professor, Berkeley Law School & School of Information
  • Susan Crawford, Professor of Law, Cardozo Law School
  • Michael Geist, Professor, University of Ottawa
  • Karen Jackson, Deputy Secretary of Technology, Commonwealth of Virginia
  • Sascha Meinrath, Founder, Open Technology Initiative
  • Siva Vaidhyanathan, Professor of Media Studies, University of Virginia
  • Sarah Deutsch, Vice President and Associate General Counsel, Verizon
    (President’s Award)
  • Carl Malamud, Founder, PublicResource.Org
  • Ben Scott, Policy Director, Free Press
  • Fred von Lohmann, Senior Staff Attorney, Electronic Frontier Foundation
  • Representative Zoe Lofgren, D-CA (President’s Award)
  • Jamie Love, Activist
  • OK Go, Band
  • Tim Wu, Professor, Columbia University Law
  • Robert Young, Founder, Red Hat Software (President’s Award)
  • Yochai Benkler, Professor, Yale Law School
  • Blake and Jason Krikorian, Co-Founders, Sling Media
  • Jessica Litman, Professor, Wayne State University Law School
  • James Burger, Member, Dow Lohnes PLLC (President’s Award)
  • Victoria Hale, Founder, The Institute for OneWorld Health
  • Gregory Macguire, Author
  • Dr. David P. Reed, Pioneering Computer Scientist
  • Gary Shapiro, President and CEO, Consumer Technology Association  (President’s Award)
  • Representative Rick Boucher, D-Va
  • DJ Danger Mouse, Musician and Songwriter
  • Brewster Kahle, Founder and Digital Librarian, Internet Archive