Public Knowledge Sets 2006 IP3 Awards
Public Knowledge Sets 2006 IP3 Awards
Public Knowledge Sets 2006 IP3 Awards

    Get Involved Today

    For Immediate Release

    Public Knowledge today asked for nominations for its IP3 awards for 2006, the third year the awards will be given. The awards honor achievement in the areas of Intellectual Property, Information Policy and Internet Protocol. The organization sent the following statement to its members and posted it on the Public Knowledge Web site:

    We live in a world in which the law and policies surrounding intellectual property, information policy, and the Internet are increasingly interconnected, and even converging with one another. This new three-dimensional policy arena poses important challenges for us, but it also creates important opportunities for creative individuals in each of the three underlying fields of endeavor to advance the public interest. For this reason, Public Knowledge has instituted the annual IP3 Awards, given to individuals who over the past year (or over the course of their careers) who have advanced the public interest regarding one of the three kinds of “IP” — Intellectual Property, Information Policy, and the Internet Protocol.

    As in the past two years, we're asking you for nominations. Please submit your nominations for IP3 Awards recipients by August 15, 2006 to To be valid, all nominations must contain your reason, however brief, for nominating the individual or organization and a means of contacting the nominee. We will accept anonymous nominations but ideally we'd like to contact the nominating parties in case we need further information. IP3 Award winners will be invited to attend October 19 awards ceremony at Washington, DC, at Public Knowledge's expense.

    IP3 winners in 2005 were Dr. David P. Reed for his seminal work on Internet architecture; Dr. Victoria Hale, for founding the Institute for One World Health which uses donated intellectual property to create medicines for the Third World; and Gregory Maguire, for his transformative use of public domain material in creating new works of art, such as his novel, “Wicked,” based on the “Wizard of Oz.” Gary Shapiro, president of the Consumer Electronics Association, received a special award

    IP3 winners in 2004 were Rep. Rick Boucher (D-Va.) was chosen because of his outstanding record as an advocate on Capitol Hill for balance in our copyright law in an era where large corporate copyright interests increasingly call for expanded rights. Danger Mouse, who demonstrated that truly original creative work can be built on top of the creative work of others; Brewster Kahle the founder and digital librarian of the Internet Archive, which was founded to offer permanent access for researchers, historians, scholars and the general public to Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form. We're pleased that judges for this year include former winners Rep. Rick Boucher and Gary Shapiro. Also on the panel are Mark Lloyd, senior fellow at the Center for American Progress; Rob Frieden, professor of telecommunications at Penn State University; Jenny Toomey, musician and executive director of the Future of Music Coalition; June Cross, documentary filmmaker and assistant professor at Columbia University.

    Contact Info
    Art Brodsky
    Communications Director
    Public Knowledge
    office: (202) 518-0020 x103
    cell: (301) 908-7715


    Public Knowledge is a public-interest advocacy and education organization that seeks to promote a balanced approach to intellectual property law and technology policy that reflects the “cultural bargain” intended by the framers of the constitution.

    More information available at:

    Members of the media may contact Communications Director Shiva Stella with inquiries, interview requests, or to join the Public Knowledge press list at or 405-249-9435.