Who Should Get an IP3 Award This Year?
Who Should Get an IP3 Award This Year?
Who Should Get an IP3 Award This Year?

    Get Involved Today

    The public interest community has a lot to celebrate. In the
    last year, we have succeeded in stopping AT&T’s attempt to take over
    T-Mobile, prevented Congress from passing SOPA and PIPA, and saved net
    neutrality from a Congressional death sentence.

    A number of thought leaders and activists have made these
    victories possible.

    Public Knowledge’s IP3 awards are a special occasion to
    honor those who have made significant contributions in the three areas of
    “IP”—intellectual property, information policy and Internet

    This year will be the ninth year PK has made the awards, and
    now it’s time for you to submit nominations. They can be for a career’s worth of work, or for a more
    recent accomplishment. It’s up to

    Winners in 2011 were Sen. Ron Wyden, Beth Noveck, a professor at New York Law School and
    Peter Jaszi, a professor at the Washington College of Law at American

    Recipients from past years include Reps. Rick Boucher and
    Zoe Lofgren, Ben Scott, then with Free Press, Fred von Lohmann, then with the
    Electronic Frontier Foundation, members of the band OK Go!; professor Tim Wu;
    Blake and Jason Krikorian, founders of Sling Media; Gregory Maguire, author of
    “Wicked: The Life and Times of the Wicked Witch of the West.”

    Here’s how it works:

    • Send in your nomination to this email address: ip3nominees@publicknowledge.org
    • Give us the name of your nominee and a short
      explanation for why you think your nominee should win.
    • We’ll pass along that information to a panel of judges
      who will narrow down the list of nominees to three winners.

    This year’s judges will be:

    • Leah Belsky, VP of Strategic Development and
      Assoc. GC, Kaltura, and PK Board member
    • Laurent Crenshaw, Legislative Director, Office
      of Representative Darrell Issa
    • Ben Scott, Policy Advisor for Innovation, Office
      of Secretary of State
    • Matt Wood, Policy Director, Free Press
    • Cynthia Wong, Director, Global Internet Freedom
      Project, Center for Democracy & Technology

    Please make your nominations by May 16. You can see a list
    of past winners here.
    This year’s winners will be recognized at the 9th Annual IP3 Awards
    on September 12, 2012.